ETU Congress 2010

ETU Congress 2010

By ITU Admin on 06/07/10 at 7:53 pm

The ETU held a successful Congress during last Friday, 2nd July.  The venue was the Sheraton Hotel in Athlone, Ireland, which was also the venue for the ETU Triathlon European Championships.

Congress paid respect to the memory of our late president, Emilio Di Toro.  A photograph of Emilio was placed on the top table, so, in a sense, he was keeping an eye on things.

After having to lead ETU in the circumstances following Emilio’s death, Helmut Kaufmann, Vice President, received the approbation and thanks of delegates for the efficient and effective way in which he had discharged his duties.

Philip EC Schädler, from Liechtenstein, was acclaimed as the new ETU President.  Philip’s elevation to the presidency leaves the treasurer’s position vacant and the Executive Board in need of one person.  These matters are to be addressed by the Executive Board through co-options for one year.

Congress was welcomed to Ireland by Mark Riseley, President of Triathlon Ireland.  We were honoured to be addressed by our former president, now ITU President and IOC member, Marisol Casado.  Delegates were also pleased to hear an address from John Treacy, the CEO of Sport Ireland. Patrick Hickey, the President of the Olympic Council of Ireland, President of the European Olympic Committees and Irish IOC member was also in attendance for some of our proceedings .

Preceding Congress there were interesting and helpful workshops on Winter Triathlon and Paratriathlon. The Development Committee also met and welcomed guests Libby Burrell and Gergely Markus, respectively ITU Development and Event Directors.

All of the customary reports were received by delegates who were able to make comments and seek clarification if needed.  A number of resolutions was discussed and resolved.  Through a resolution from the Executive Board, Jef Konings from Belgium was unanimously accepted as an Honorary Member of ETU.  Dirk Bogaert (BEL) and Jasmine Flatters (GBR) were elected to fill vacancies in the Technical Committee.  Werner Taveirne (BEL) and Halil Kilicoglu (TUR) were elected to the Audit Committee, which leaves a vacancy on that committee to be co-opted by the Executive Board.

The Executive Board was pleased to announce that, following the bid process, the ETU Triathlon European Championships 2012 will be staged in Eilat, Israel, between the 20th and 23rd April. There had been a very strong bid from Alanya, Turkey.  Alanya will be the venue for an enhanced final of the ITU Triathlon Premium European Cup in October 2011.

Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal, was announced as the venue for this year’s ETU Triathlon Youth & Under 23 Championships. 

Delegates expressed sympathy to the victims of the floods in Poland which had led to the cancellation of that event in Kedzierzyn Kozle.  The event will go to Poland in 2011.

In the evening, after the entertaining opening ceremony for the European Championships, the ETU Executive Board invited delegates to an informal meal to celebrate 25 years of ETU and triathlon in Europe.  We were pleased to welcome, as special guests, a number of former ETU Presidents:  Jef Konings (BEL), Tom O’Donnell (IRE), Didier Lenehaff (FRA) and Marisol Casado (ESP) were presented with an ETU gold medal.  At the last minute Joop Van Zanten was unable to join us because of the death of a close family member. Joop was thoughtful enough to send his best wishes to the gathering.